| HOME | INTRODUCTION | SOURCES | UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES |
1900   1910   1920   1930   1940   1950   1960   1970   1980   1990   2000

1981: Museum of Antiquities Opens

Larger Version

Initiated by professors Michael Swan and Nicholas Gyenes, in 1974 the University began collecting high-quality reproductions of Greek and Roman sculpture from the Louvre, the British Museum, the Museum of Antiquities in Delphi, and the Acropolis Museum in Athens. Through University and private sponsorship the collections grew rapidly and by 1981, The Museum of Antiquities was formally opened in the Main Library.

The collection was always intended to enrich the experience of students studying art, history and the classics; and the Museumís long-range aim is to offer a reliable and critical account of the artistic accomplishments of major epochs and civilizations, especially in the field of sculptural art. The present collection includes Cycladic to Medieval and Early Christian art, as well as coins. It is the only museum of its kind at a Canadian university.


Related Collections

Nicholas Gyenes fonds, MG 76.
R.D. Sullivan fonds, MG 98.

Images

1981a: Museum of Antiquities. Photograph Collection, A-8788.

Previous YearReturn to Main PageNext Year