1900   1910   1920   1930   1940   1950   1960   1970   1980   1990   2000

1911: Little Stone School rebuilt on campus

The first permanent schoolhouse in Saskatoon was built in 1887, where Victoria School now stands.  A much larger school building was erected in 1903 and resulted in the original “stone school” falling into disuse – and running the risk of being torn down.  In 1911, the University agreed to let the Golden West Chapter of the Imperial Order move the stone school, stone by stone, to the University of Saskatchewan campus (just east of the current location of St. Andrew’s College).  The total cost was expected to be $950.  President Murray, in recommending that the building be accepted on campus, suggested that it be used for a “Museum and Library for Local History Collection.”  However, it does not appear that this part of the plan was carried out.  Until 1967, when as part of centennial celebrations the building was restored to its original condition and opened as a museum, the Little Stone School was apparently used mainly for storage.  The Little Stone School Society (originally a committee of the Saskatoon Council of Women) looked after the building until 1981 when the University assumed ownership and responsibility.   As part of the Diefenbaker Centre’s educational programming, young students can now “relive a typical 1905 classroom experience.”  The building was designated as a provincial heritage property in 1985.              

Larger Version
Larger Version
Related Collections

Visitor and Cultural Resources fonds, RG 2113


1911a: Transfer of keys to President L.F. Kristjanson in 1981. Photograph Collection, A-6666.
1912b,c: Postcard of Victoria School, with Little Stone School in its original location. Photograph Collection, A-889.


Board of Governors Minutes, May 9, 1911; agenda, August 10, 1911.
“School Survives as Historic Site,” On Campus, 15 May 1981.
Saving our City, p. 46.

Previous YearReturn to Main PageNext Year