Saskatchewan's 1944 CCF Election
Saskatchewan Council for Archives & Archivists
Previous Page

The Beginning

Next Page

Farmers never settled easily into the two party system of Liberals and Conservatives. There was an inherent conflict with the National Policy, which proved more adapt at settling the west than it did providing a stable market for western agricultural products. This was never more true than in the early 1920s. The First World War had Canada strained economically and politically. Western agriculturalists, expected to carry the burden of feeding the British Empire, felt that in recognition of this they should be granted some exception from conscription and taxation. In addition to this, the attempt to find meaning in the carnage of war fueled a reforming zeal in many Canadians.

Executive of the Saskatchewan Progressive Party 8


Page 1 | Page 2 | Page 3 | Page 4 | Page 5 | Page 6 | Page 7

Pamphlet reviewing pool activities since 1935. 9

The federal election of 1921 brought Canada its first minority government. Prairie farmers united with their Ontario counterparts under the leadership of Thomas Crerar, a former Liberal Cabinet Minister, and proposed a new national policy of free trade, the nationalization of railways and direct democracy. Progressives captured 65 seats, many from the west, making it the second largest party in Parliament. Prime Minister W.L. Mackenzie King sardonically called them "liberals in a hurry". Holding the balance of power, they did manage to impose many of their reforms on the government. The Progressives were unable to overcome their distrust of 'political parties' and rarely acted as a group.

In the idealistic furor of the 1920s, Cooperatives flourished. A cooperative is a business owned and operated for the benefit of its members. This was a radical move-it merged ownership of the means of production with the consumer. Farmers, tired of trying to convince business to provide them with many goods and services affordably, established credit unions, elevators, grocery stores and even medical clinics. These reforms had a historical precedent; there was a cooperative creamery as early as 1890.

Cover, 'Co-op Mutual Benefit Association' pamphlet 10

2nd bylaw describing the Co-op Mutual Benefit Association's objectives 11

St. Victor Co-operative Family Protective Society, 1940 12

Staff outside of Co-operative Family Protective Society, 1940 13



Home | Introduction | The Beginning | Farmer-Labor Party | Regina Convention |
Social Democracy in the Depression | Election of 1944 | Conclusion | Acknowledgements | Educational Resources | Sources | Français

© 2004 Saskatchewan Council for Archives & Archivists

Les …lections de la CCF en Saskatchewan en 1944
Saskatchewan Council for Archives & Archivists
Previous Page

Les débuts

Next Page

Les agriculteurs ne s’étaient jamais bien senti dans un régime de dualité de partis formé par des Libéraux et des Conservateurs.  Il y avait un conflit inhérent avec la Politique nationale ; cette politique était plus adepte à établir  des gens dans l’Ouest que de lui offrir un marché stable pour ses produits agricoles.  Ceci n’était jamais plus vrai qu’au début des années 1920.  La Première Guerre Mondiale a mis des pressions économiques et politiques sur le Canada.  Les agriculteurs de l’Ouest, qui, l’on présumait, allaient porter le fardeau de nourrir l’Empire britannique, croyaient qu’en reconnaissance ils seraient dispensés de la conscription et des impôts.  De plus, c’est en essayant de trouver une signification au carnage de la guerre que cela a alimenté un zèle réformateur parmi plusieurs Canadiens.

Membres du Conseil de direction du Parti progressiste de la Saskatchewan 8


Page 1 | Page 2 | Page 3 | Page 4 | Page 5 | Page 6 | Page 7

Dépliant faisant le survol des activités de la Commission du blé depuis 1935. 9

C’est aux élections fédérales de 1921 que le Canada a élu son premier gouvernement minoritaire.  Les agriculteurs des Prairies se sont unis à leurs homologues de l’Ontario sous le chef, Thomas Crerar, un ancien ministre du Cabinet Libéral, et ont proposé de nouvelles politiques nationales sur le libre-échange, sur la nationalisation des chemins de fer, et sur la démocratie directe.  Les Conservateurs ont pris 65 sièges, dont plusieurs de l’Ouest, qui leur permettaient de former le deuxième plus grand parti politique au Parlement.  Le Premier ministre, W.L. Mackenzie King, les nommait sardoniquement les "Libéraux pressés".  Comme ces derniers détenaient la balance du pouvoir, ils ont réussi à imposé plusieurs de leurs réformes au gouvernement.  Les Conservateurs n’ont pas réussi à surmonter leur méfiance des ‘partis politiques’, et donc n’agissaient que rarement en commun.

Pendant le débordement idéaliste des années 1920, les coopératives fleurissaient.  Une coopérative est une entreprise appartenant aux membres et fonctionnant pour leur bénéfice.  C’était une manœuvre radicale  – la coopérative fusait la propriété des moyens de production avec le consommateur.  Les agriculteurs, fatigués par leurs tentatives à convaincre des entreprises de leur offrir des biens et des services à des prix abordables, ont établi des caisses populaires, des élévateurs à grains, des épiceries et même des cliniques médicales.  Ces réformes avaient un précédent historique ; il y avait déjà une crémerie coopérative en 1890.

Page couverture, dépliant du ‘Co-op Mutual Benefit Association’ [Association fraternelle de secours mutuel Co-op] 10

2e  arrêté décrivant les objectifs du Co-op Mutual Benefit Association [Association fraternelle de secours mutuel Co-op] 11

Co-operative Family Protective Society [la Société coopérative de protection familiale] de St Victor, 1940 12

Personnel à l’extérieur de l’édifice du Co-operative Family Protective Society [la Société coopérative de protection familiale], 1940 13



Page d'accueil | Introduction | Les débuts | Le Parti agraire-ouvrier | Le Congrès de Regina |
La démocratie sociale durant la Crise économique | Les élections de 1944 | Conclusion | Hommages | Ressources pédagogiques | Sources | English

© 2004 Saskatchewan Council for Archives & Archivists